New Year’s Resolutions

935342_10151396027977377_1630519156_n

{photo from}

I’ve never really thought about making a list of resolutions for myself. I’ve always thought of it as silly because if you really want to change something about yourself or your life style in general, why wait for another year to act on it? I guess it’s about comparing a new year to a new, clean slate – you can start off fresh.

Don’t get me wrong, I never forget to thank Him for all the blessings I’ve received through out the year. But I know this year will be a big one for me. This is the year I’ll be turning twenty. The transition from teenager to almost-there-but-not-quite an adult. And this time, I want to act on the changes I’ve been thinking about for a long time.

So, this 2014 I would very much like to…

  • Start eating healthy. God, this will probably be the hardest change I will ever make. Let me just get this out there, I don’t eat vegetables and I don’t think I ever will. I know they’re suppose to be good for you and make your skin look 10x better, yadda yadda. But I just can’t stomach the taste. I could do with out the junk food and the fries (okay, maybe that’s a little drastic. Once a week, maybe?).
  • Start eating vegetables. Okay, so, in order for me to accomplish goal number one, I have to at least try and eat some vegetables. The leafy ones are tolerable.
  • Stop procrastinating when it comes to exercising. This will  be as hard as the first one. This is not just for the reason of me wanting to be a VS model because let’s face it, I’m not even close to the height requirement. It’s also for the reasons that one, I would  very much like to walk at least a mile without wanting to die of exhaustion. Two, I would love to touch my toes using my fingers. I miss them. And lastly, with all the shallowness I have in my body, I want to have abs. Seriously. Who doesn’t want to have abs? Whoever says so is a liar or probably already has abs and don’t know how to appreciate them.
  • Start saving money. I tend to buy things that I don’t even need for the sole reason that they’re cute. But I will continue to collect pens. I love pens. *smirk*
  • Stop wanting to stab people with perfectly sharpened pencils. We’re only human and sometimes we’re stupid. But there are others who take stupidity to a whole new level. But I know that doesn’t give me the right to want to stab them. I want to lessen the intensity of negative feelings I have for the people I don’t like and instead spread love and flowers and chocolates! ❤
  • Stop painting my nails a different color every day. I have this obsession of buying nail polish and changing my nail color every other day. I got to stop this because it’ll interfere with my goal number 4.
  • Start sleeping early. Correct me if I’m wrong but isn’t sleeping early part of living healthy? I need to stop sleeping in the wee hours of the morning because my eyes are starting to look like those of the undead. And it ain’t pretty.
  • Grow a pair. I’ve always been the type who’s afraid to speak out and say what I want. Because there are those who are just… I don’t know how to call them. But they’re the ones who make people feel insignificant. The show-offs and the know-it-alls. I think it’s about time I stood up to them.
  • Start appreciating the things I have. We have this habit of wanting more out of everything. Sometimes we are so focused on wanting what we don’t have that we forget the blessings that we already do. We take things for granted thinking that they’ll always be there. And I know it’s not our fault, its human nature to never be contented. To want better and bigger things. I just think that it would be nice to be thankful and happy with what you have, for once. Hey, don’t get your panties in a bunch. I’m not saying that we should stop striving and working hard. I’m just saying to take a day off and enjoy.
  • Avoid feeling insecure. This has always been my issue. I know that this is unhealthy and I should do something about this as early as now. It’s just hard, you know? You can only do so much about your physical insecurities when the emotional ones are the ones that are eating you alive.

Tada! My first ever new year’s resolutions! I know some will be easier than the others but with His grace, your determination and hard work, anything is possible.

What are your new year’s resolutions? 🙂

Inspired from my favorite blogger of all time, Camie Juan! Check out her resolutions {here}.

One thought on “New Year’s Resolutions

Leave a Reply

