Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

tumblr_m24avlFLqQ1qdm9q7o1_r1_500

I’ve always ignored this movie because it’s always on HBO.

I was so right to have ignored this numerous times because this is the most heartbreaking movie I have ever seen. It tugged on my heartstrings like a bitch and I couldn’t stop crying half of the time I was watching it. And I just found out that this was a book by Jonathan Safran Foer! I’m not really familiar with any of his works but I think this would be a great “Book of the Month”! I’m so full of emotions right now and the guilt I keep on feeling whenever I remember him saying to his mother that it should’ve been her who died (READ THE BOOK FIRST BEFORE YOU WATCH THE MOVIE). I won’t tell you anything about how the story goes because I want you  to feel the pain I felt when I was watching this. I had no idea what I was getting into.

I’ll leave you with a couple of quotes from the movie:

Oskar Schell: Can’t you even tell me if I’m on the right track?
Thomas Schell: *Shrugs his shoulders*
Oskar Schell: But if you don’t tell me, how can I ever be right?
Thomas Schell: Well, another way of looking at it is…how can you ever be wrong?

Oskar: As much as I want him to, my Dad is never coming back, and I thought I couldn’t live without him. Now I know I can. I think that would make my Dad proud, which is all I ever wanted.

Thomas Schell: If it isn’t difficult to find it is not worth finding.

(Source of quotes)

Leave a Reply

